Many elected officials to be sworn in this Sunday

By Nicole Minier

COLUMBIA CITY — Most of Whitley County’s newly elected officials will be sworn in at the Courthouse Sunday.

The annual swearing-in ceremony will be held at noon in the Whitley Circuit Courtroom on the third floor of the Courthouse.

Smith-Green Community Schools’ board members will not be sworn in Sunday, but will be sworn in by Dee Boyle, SGCS secretary, on Jan. 9.

The Jan. 9 meeting will replace the board’s regular meeting on Jan. 16 so the members can be sworn in before the Jan. 15 deadline. There will be no changes to the board as it stands. Luke Gross and Nick Uecker were re-elected.

Dean Geiger did not run for re-election; however, since no one filed to replace him, he will remain a board member unless he chooses to step down. In that case, the board would select a replacement for him.

Geiger has not indicated that he intends to relinquish his spot on the board.

Local officials who were elected in the November General Election include: Circuit Court Judge Matthew Rentschler, Superior Court Judge Doug Fahl, County Treasurer Laurell Hodges, County Coroner Randy Dellinger, County Sureyor Mark Mynhier, County Commissioner Tom Western, County Commissioner Don Amber, County Councilmen Chad Banks, Thor Hodges and Bill Overdeer, Whitley County Consolidated Schools Board members Stan Myer, Jill Western, Bill Tucker, Deb Hiss and James Renbarger, and Whitko School Board members Georgia Tenney, Carrie Hoffman and Joseph Begley.

Filling Judge Rentschler’s position as county prosecutor will be D.J. Sigler, who was selected by Republican Precinct Committeemen earlier this month.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *