Mary Martha Scott

Whitley County Quilt Show winners

Quilt Show Winners

Appliqué: Winner – Laura Diamente; Participants – Bea Knarr, Diana Hull.

Children’s Quilts: Winner – Sally Gingery; Crazy Quilts ; Participant – Barbara Oliver.

Home Décor: Winner – Bev Weber; Participants – Kay Edsall, Connie Seymoure, Laura VanPatten, Mary Martha Scott, and Nancy Scott.

Original: Winner – Molly Amstutz; Participants – Connie Seymoure, Nancy Scott.

Pieced: Winner – Molly Amstutz; Participants – Nancy Overton, Laura VanPatten, Janet Vesa, Vicki Ousley, Bev Weber, Mary Martha Scott, Sally Gingery, Kathy Slater.

Samplers: Winner – Nancy Scott; Participants – Connie Seymoure, Elaine Rider, Kathy Slater.

Miscellaneous: Participant – Nancy Scott.

Display Only: Participants – Charles E. and Vesta J. Bennett, Kathy Slater, and Gloria Reimer.

Judge’s Choice Winner is Molly Amstutz and People’s Choice Winner is Mary Martha Scott.

Janet Vesa, Chairwomen of the Quilt Show set up a display for Quilts of Valor.  These Wartime quilts, called Quilts of Valor (QOV’s), are a tangible reminder of an American’s appreciation and gratitude.  QOV’s are stitched with love, prayers, and healing thoughts.  Combat troops who have been wounded or touched by war are awarded this tangible token of appreciation that unequivocally says, “Thank You for your Service, Sacrifice and Valor.” Whitley County Quilters, a local quilt guild, has been active in supporting the Quilts of Valor Foundation for several years.  Members of this Quilting Club make quilts individually and as a group for the Fort Wayne Veterans Hospital. 

Quilt Show committee members were: Chairwomen Janet Vesa, Isabel Ruckman, Anne Walker, Mary Myers, Mary Cummings, and Jody Gaerte.  Holiday Bazaar Chairwomen are Sheila Schilling, Lorretta Burnworth, Janet Hindbaugh, and Paula Hinen.

Next year’s Holiday Bazaar and Quilt Show will be held on November 2 & 3, 2012 at the Whitley County 4-H Center.

{loadposition relatedcategorynewscounty}

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *