School Board

School Board sets earlier meeting time

Board President Tanya Young and Boardmember Cathy Petrie did not approve of the time change, citing work conflicts that would press them for time to make it to executive sessions prior to regular meetings. Darnell explained that an earlier start time would hopefully bring in more community members to see what happens at a regular board meeting.

The Board also voted on several annual appointments. Young remains Board President, while Mike Sturgis and Nick Uecker remain in their respective positions of Board Vice President and Board Secretary.

In other Board news:

• The Board approved retirement requests from Bus Driver Clarence Krider, CJSHS Guidance Counselor Amanda Smith and CES Paraprofessional Kathy Miller. Krider has served the district for 43 years, Smith for 30 years and Miller for 25 years.

• Due to financial constraints in 2011 capital projects funding, Darnell recommended the elimination of the Technology Specialist position held by Lib McDowell at the end of the 2010-11 school year. McDowell would be reassigned to any available classified position for which she is qualified—most likely the CES media specialist position, which will be vacated as Julie Mast moves to a High Ability position.

Darnell said the corporation currently employs two systems engineers and a technology specialist. The higher skill set required by the engineers eliminates the need for a technology specialist if the funding is unavailable, Darnell said.

Board Secretary Nick Uecker said he was not comfortable eliminating the position and motioned to table the item until May. He also requested updates on the technology budget and positions that would be available to McDowell, as well as positions that would be eliminated before the May decision. The Board voted 3-2 to table the decision.

President Young and Boardmember Rick Trump dissented. Trump said cuts may be necessary based on budget cuts and he felt a decision should have been made now so McDowell or any other employees would know the status of their employment.

• The Board accepted community donations from McDonald’s owners Dick and Judy Littlefield in the amount of $150 for Eagle Garden and from the Whitley County Community Foundation on the behalf of Bob Koontz in the amount of $1,000 for Project Lead the Way.

The next regular scheduled Board meeting will be Monday, January 17 at 6:30 p.m. in the Administrative Building.

{loadposition relatedcategorynewslocal}

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *