Dale Cummings

Local races dominated by Republicans

Straight ticket voting told the story as Republicans garnered 1,766 votes and Democrats 541 in Whitley County.

A casualty of the straight ticket landslide was incumbent County Commissioner Democrat Mike Schrader. Schrader lost his seat with 4934 votes to Republican George Schrumpf’s 5438 votes.

Another big winner in the county was Republican Doug Fahl. Fahl defeated Democrat Gregg Hockemeyer for the Judge of the 

Superior Court by a tally of 6,698 to 3,730.

Churubusco resident John Barrett retained his seat on the Whitley County Council with 2,028 votes.

Two incumbent Smith-Green School Board members were also re-elected. Tanya Young received 1,651 votes and Cathy Petrie 1,635. They both will serve four-year terms.

Other results of note throughout the county are as follows: Circuit Court Judge, Jim Heuer (R) 8,474 votes; State Representative 83rd District, Kathy Heuer (R) 2,147 votes; State Senator District 17, Jim Banks (R) 8,391 votes; Sheriff, Mark Hodges (R) 8,757 votes; Prosecutor, Matt Renschler (R) 8,604 votes.

{loadposition relatedcategorynewslocal}

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *