’Busco grapplers get second at Woodlan Invitational

By Nicole Minier


WOODBURN – After back-to-back fifth-place tournament finishes, Churubusco’s wrestling team placed second at the Woodlan Invitational.

The Eagles had first-place finishes from Joe Leazier, J.T. Kilgore and Reese Wicker; a second-place finish from Korbyn Reister, and several third, fourth and fifth place finishes.

“We were happy overall with how we wrestled as a team,” said head coach Sam Riesen. “We knew that there were some good squads there, and thought we had a shot at winning a title.”

The winning team, New Haven, had its regularly scheduled weekend tournament canceled, and joined the Woodlan tourney just that morning.

“We were glad they were there,” Riesen said. “As a wrestler you always want to see the best competition, so even though it cost us a little, we were still happy with how it went, because we got to see some better teams.”

Leazier brought home another title at 138 pounds — his third in a row at invitationals.

“He is really on a roll right now,” said Riesen. “There is still a little clean up to be done on his end, but he is wrestling really well rolling into conference.”

Kilgore won his second in a row, and Wicker got a win after placing second in the last tournament.

“J.T. and Reese both ended up facing, and beating, tough kids from New Haven in the finals,” Riesen said. “Those are two kids who we could easily see at the regionals, if we make it there.

“Those were really big wins and our guys were pumped when we got them.”

Riesen said Mason Grey was another stand-out wrestler for Churubusco at Woodlan.

“He has turned a corner, and despite his record, is really picking up some nice wins right now. We hope he can keep this going through the postseason.”

Grey placed third at 120 pounds.

The team next competes at the NECC meet at Fairfield on Saturday morning, starting at 9 a.m.

’Busco placings

106 – Korbyn Reister, 2nd

106 – Marcus Boger, 6th

113 – Cody Graft, 5th

120 – Mason Grey, 3rd

138 – Joe Leazier, 1st

145 – A. Boggess, 6th

152 – Max Sadjak, 4th

182 – Jakob Spieth, 4th

195 – Clay Tinney, 4th

220 – J.T. Kilgore, 1st

285 – Reese Wicker, 1st

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *